top of page

JAG KY Student Selected as National Kenneth Smith Scholar

Korey Hanson, Sheldon Clark High School 2018 JAG KY President and four-year member, was selected as one of 20 Smith Scholars from across the Jobs for America’s Graduates National Network.

Twenty JAG graduates who demonstrated extraordinary leadership, commitment and dedication to Jobs for America’s Graduates were selected to receive a $1,000 scholarship and, more importantly, will be able to use the designation as having been vetted and recognized as a 2018 Smith Scholar. This high honor should be included on resumes, college applications and state and national recognitions. Only 20 JAG graduates in the Class of 2018 from across the nation will be able to use the Smith Scholar designation.  

The Kenneth M. Smith Scholarship Fund and the Smith Scholars Program were established by the JAG Board of Directors to recognize the extraordinary leadership and service of the first and only President and Chief Executive Officer of Jobs for America’s Graduates, Inc., Kenneth M. Smith.  The number of scholarships awarded annually is dependent on the donations to the Ken Smith Scholarship Fund.  Funding for the KMS Scholarship Fund has come from JAG Board members as well as Western Union Foundation, Lillian Goldman Trust, Strategic Partnerships and CERI.  From 2009-2018, the Fund has awarded 154 scholarships for a total of $165,000.

Over 100 JAG seniors submitted applications to the Kenneth M. Smith Scholarship program consisting of the following documents: Application, Resume, Essay, High School Transcript, Proof of College Application or Acceptance and Three Reference Letters.  2018 proved to be one of the most difficult years to review the application packets, assign points, then, make the decision as to which applicants moved forward to be among the Top 40 Applicants. Two JAG national board members were responsible for reviewing the Top 40 Application Packets and selecting the Top 25 Applicants. Two additional board members reviewed the Top 25 Application Packets and ultimately selected the final twenty (20) Smith Scholars. 

2018 Smith Scholars received a letter of congratulations from JAG Governance Committee Chairman Larry Caruso with information regarding receipt of their $1,000 scholarship.  The letter also outlined responsibilities that Smith Scholars are expected to fulfill during their 2018-2019 collegiate enrollment.  This commitment is very important to maintain and expand the Smith Scholars Program.

Hanson, the son of Andrew and Marcie Hanson of Tomahawk, is currently majoring in Sports Management at Alice Lloyd College where he is a member of the golf team.  In addition to multiple first place awards in Carpet Maze, Essay, Promotional Video, Service Learning, and Powerpoint Presentation at the JAG KY State Career Development Conference, Korey was also a multi-year state delegate at the JAG National Student Leadership Academy in Washington, D.C. 


The 2018 Smith Scholars receiving a $1,000 scholarship are: Mary Frances Avera, Louisiana; Jon’na Bailey, Mississippi; Brittany Brusven, Montana; Haylie Burns, Missouri; Jailah Carter, Indiana; Tykasia Davis, Virginia; Mariah Grider, Indiana; Apollo Grondin, Maine; Ashtyn Gwatney, Arkansas; Korey Hanson, Kentucky; Tiffany Horton, Georgia; Caitlyn Hyatt, Ohio; Chad Jones, Louisiana; Karra Lohr, Montana; Madison Mills, Maine; Kyle Pernell, Mississippi; Tasha Reeve, Montana; Alexis Robison, Montana; Adeanna Thomas, Arkansas; Anna Wright, Arkansas. 


Jobs for America’s Graduates wishes each Kenneth Smith Scholar the best of luck in their pursuit of their future career.

bottom of page